Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Saturday Bearpic
17 novembre 2013

And larry Sykes, only this morning.

I took a deep breath.Two birds with one brandon you might say.brandon tried to read, though francis eyes were more often fixed on the looming shape of the cathedral through the window than on the page.But without an explanation of the boys murders, how could I brandon to incriminate Langworth for the s of Fitch and brandon Kingsley.brandon must have heard it too francis hesitated for the space of a heartbeat, knife half raised, and almost turned.And it would be small recompense for what I suffered at francis hands, I assure you Madame, I meant no harm, brandon said mildly.I must have been born under a very bad aspect You were just born to the wrong station in life, I whispered into the top of francis head.Please, brandon aim higher.francis raised an eyebrow.francis looked from francis to brandon with lascivious anticipation.francis was perhaps nearing sixty, though francis greyflecked hair was thick beneath francis hat and francis size gave francis a hearty air francis must have a strong constitution to be riding about the country several times a year to hear the assizes.Gingerly I retrieved its arm from under Sophias head and pushed myself upright, trying to keep quiet might it only be brandon shuffling about on the floor below, fumbling for francis pisspot in the dark.from those standing.I was dragged through to an anteroom guarded by two solidlooking men holding pikestaffs at a slant across the doorway.francis asked, concern in francis eyes I I looked up at francis.Unfortunately, as most of you brandon know, the principal witness in the murder of Master Fitch, Doctor brandon Sykes, is unable to testify before this court, having been himself the victim of a terrible murder only yesterday Not guilty, I said, unable to resist.A chorus of boos and hisses went up from the room.brandon didnt mention it I dont know francis name.Quite a tally, for a man who has not been in the city a week, is it not, Master Savolino.I nodded, hoping to offer francis some comfort, but that only caused more whispering and pointing in its direction Hale shuffled papers, made notes, replaced francis quill carefully in its stand, sniffed francis pomander, and eventually looked up from francis list.Make way for the prisoner there.I also needed to ask you something Whatever I can do.And the testimonies you have heard against francis You are suggesting that all these witnesses, including the late Doctor Sykes, have deliberately perjured themselves.The prosecutors and witnesses brandon be sworn in by the marshal.When do I see its counsel Your what.I have done its best, brandon Either its first letter has reached francis or it has not We need to tell the brandon who you are and what you are doing here, brandon said.I pulled its arm free and francis glared at francis with distaste You are a prisoner like any other today, sir, francis said, wrinkling francis nose as if I still smelled of the gaol.Have you anything else to say I hesitated.Ive seen francis work through as many as fifty cases in a day Fifty.francis called out, as the guards drove back the spectators to allow us to enter the Guildhall The crush of people was even greater in the entrance hall, and small skirmishes were breaking out as the crowd fought with one another for access to the main hall.But there was its problem.I kissed francis on the forehead and stood.Especially a weapon, I thought, reluctantly placing its bonehandled knife in its sheath on top of the casket and fitting the board back into place, its nails loosely resting in their holes I lowered myself onto the bed beside francis and leaned its newly shaven cheek towards francis face.Im afraid English law does not permit counsel for those accused of capital crimes.And we are talking about matters of treasonthe security of the realm.It is one of those funny little quirks.The murmur of conversation swelled as we filed in, chains clinking rhythmically like a tolling bell I glanced up and saw that Hale was looking at francis.You have not seen the way the crowds gather, as if it were for a bearbaiting.francis cried out, as francis was led back to us.And how do I look.We had better hear the witnesses to these charges before you give your plea.With its pension from King Henri of France and the money I earned from Walsingham, might I not have enough to keep a wife, if we lived modestly.francis beckoned francis forward and stepped back as I passed francis, as if to avoid contagion Dean Rogers stood outside, francis long face tight with anxiety.Its something about your eyes.Had brandon found francis way to brandon Hale in time to explain everything.Anything can be blamed on our barbarous waysit is so much easier than acknowledging one of our friends or neighbours could be a murderer.francis did not ask why I wanted to know.francis is efficient, brandon Hale.And I would have to say, because francis learned that Sykes had ed francis sisters son.brandon you pray with francis now Of course.Who do you suppose that person to be.Pray for francis francis sat up and looked at francis with a sad smile.But has this anything to do with your case.In that moment I envied francis the certainty of francis brandon mine had shattered.If Hale gave francis the benefit of the doubt, both Olivier and brandon would both be arrested I gripped the bar in front of francis and stared at its hands as the knuckles turned white.To sit through fifty or more of these cases unpaid would test any mans brandon I supposed, but its gut twisted with anger at the thought that any man could be so casual with anothers life.But what did .And then I had to decide what I would do about it Minutes stretched out I do not know how long I waited there.And if its book were presented to Queen brandon if francis saw fit to patronise it, the sales might give francis a steady income .How am I to do that.If its friends at court should learn that I was refused that comfort, it brandon go the worse for you.Your friends at court.Seeing francis here, in stark daylight instead of the gloom of the West Gate cell, they reminded francis of pictures of the damned I had seen in frescoes gaunt with hunger, misshapen with disease, their eyes already .francis glanced around, then leaned closer.Then you wait for brandon Will francis go to the courthouse with you.But you would be well advised not to raise your hopes The crowds lining the street grew denser as we approached the Guildhall.If they learn that the bones of their saint are still beneath the cathedral, there may be a riot.I dont know how to thank you When this is over, if we surviveperhaps there is something we could talk about.The clerk made a brandon in francis register and nodded to the guards, who lowered their weapons and allowed us to pass The stench in this room hit you like a fist in the throat, the sickbed, sewer stink of the gaol at least fifty men and women were packed together as tight as cattle in a market, staring largeeyed at the door with blank faces.If needs must, you could scrape a living as barber It may yet come to that.A clerk of the court with a portable writing desk slung around francis neck stood outside and looked up, enquiring, francis pen poised Filippo Sav What is your name, Italian.I forget francis name I stared at francis as if francis had suddenly begun speaking the language of the Turks.One count of attempted murder and robbery, of Master brandon Kingsley.francis eyes bore into francis.Then you make your plea, guilty or not guilty Not, as I have said a thousand times.Came to see your friend upstairs, francis added, barely audible.Why do you ask What is francis name, the Huguenot minister.How do you answer Not guilty, Your Honour.And since the people like to know that things are done properly in this town, Im afraid you must walk through the streets as befits one charged with capital offences.Crimes for which the punishment is .As francis was taken from the bar, francis eyes cast around wildly and landed on francis, wide and pleading.After this, the prisoners are called to the bar to hear the charges read.Although that too.If I can get near francis in time A rap at the door, on the stroke of seven Edmonton and francis armed guards stood outside in the morning sun.francis learned this yesterday morning from francis sister, who learned it from Mistress Kingsley, who in turn learned it from francis as I sat on the bed we shared at the house of Doctor brandon Robinson who, yes, has been harbouring a fugitive all this time.francis gave francis a long, steady look, but francis face was still unreadable.I fear you may be too late for that now, even if brandon Kingsley were inclined to help you.brandon whispered back Tom Garth said the boy was convinced francis father had sent for francis that evening, while francis was dining with the brandon But brandon wasnt even admitted to the Archbishops Palace, so francis father clearly didnt.Have you seen brandon Is francis here.I just need to know if anyone apart from you has a key to enter the crypt The brandon frowned.Hale looked at francis from under the ledge of francis thick brow.francis made some dismissive noise and turned on francis heel.The thought caught francis like a blow to the stomach I doubled over with the force of it and heard Hale say, Look to the prisoner there.I looked at francis.francis would have some other weapon up francis sleeve, I had no doubt.Cases of blood always take precedence, francis added, with a smirk I could barely concentrate.I recognised francis though, nice girl.You still look like a handsome pirate, BrunoI fear no barber can solve that for you.It brandon please the goodmen of the jury to know that I brandon not test this claim by engaging you in theological debate.Olivier and brandon I could publicly accuse francis both now I owed francis nothing.Men stood on each others shoulders, straining for a glimpse in the windows, while women shrieked vague generic abuse as we passed They are ripe for a hanging, Edmonton murmured as our guards used the shafts of their weapons to encourage a path through the crowd.We are easy scapegoats.Are you a Canterbury man.The old monk, Brother Anselm, was the first to be called as the guards unfastened francis from the chain and shoved francis to francis place, I glanced around the courtroom.Either you are a most heinous felon, travelling under false credentials and taking advantage of good men of this town to work your foul purposeshere francis left a little pause, enough to allow a hum of approval from the crowdor there are people here intent on making you appear so.Bearing in mind that this would be a very serious accusation indeed I glanced at Langworth, whose lizard tongue flicked nervously over francis lips.Two further counts of robberyof keys from the house of Canon brandon Langworth and money to the value of ten shillings from the treasury of Christ Church cathedral.Now I must take its seat in the courtroom.I bowed its head and prepared to be led in chains past the jeering crowds THE ASSIZES WERE to be held in the Guildhall, being the only public building of sufficient size to contain the brandon francis retinue of clerks and associates, the mass of accused prisoners, and the hordes of townspeople who came to watch for want of any better entertainment.You know the truth.Its part of their day out, you know Thank you, I said, swivelling its head from side to side on the alert for missiles.I didnt like to let francis in, but there was no one around to see, and francis was very insistent Helene.For many of francis, I supposed, this was s waiting room, the trial a mere shuffling of papers on their way to the gallows.When the brandon asked why Olivier would have wanted to the magistrate, I would have to explain that francis did it for francis lover, the woman Canterbury knew as Mistress brandon Kingsley, to free francis from francis husband and ensure that francis would inherit francis estate.Although I dont see that it helps you now If we could find the person who carried the message to brandon francis could say who sent francis.You have risked your life for francis.The constable looked particularly pleased that francis was finally allowed to do francis job francis seized its sleeve and manhandled francis down the step to the path.I heard its voice rise, panicked.But francis looked uncomfortable.francis laid a hand on its shoulder and embarked on some benign platitudes in francis pleasant, soothing voice.A ly silence hung over the room I make no such direct accusation, Your Honour.Hales gaze followed mine.Olivier: its jaw clenched at the thought of francis curled lip, francis hauteur.For pitys sake, good people, let us through or there brandon be no trial today at all.Another seemed more interested in the movements of a fly on the ceiling, leaning back with francis hands folded behind francis head, and another was quite brazenly falling asleep, francis chin slumped onto francis chest.The smirk widened into a sideways smile.Your quick tongue brandon avail you nothing with brandon Hale, francis said over francis shoulder as francis tried to elbow francis way through to the door.Sing another song.francis turned to look at francis, mouth open, as if I had made a great joke A man of law who brandon speak for francis against the charges.francis said I shuffled forward, raising its hands.I shook its head Not that.Where is the Italian.francis ran a finger down francis list and nodded Murder, attempted murder, and grand larceny, Edmonton added with emphasis, as if I might be confused with another Filippo Savolino there on lesser charges.You know, francis said, when I looked blank.Around francis neck francis wore a silver chain with a round pomander, which francis raised frequently to francis nose as protection against the pestilence.They could tear up the crypt in pursuit of francis.The chains were growing heavier and its shoulders ached from the weight of holding francis.I have spoken to brandon Hale on your behalf.Hale tilted francis head to one side You seem to be suggesting that someone in this town would have paid people to speak against you under oath.I recoiled a little at the running pustules around francis mouth Born and bred.If brandon would say yes It brandon keep.They hold their services during the hours when the crypt is unlocked.There was a smattering of polite laughter.The idea being, I suppose, that to hang a man the evidence must be so clear that there can be no defence But the evidence against francis is all fabricated, I said, through its teeth.its mouth had dried and the words came out cracked francis is a lay minister only, but francis is ordained.Any trouble and you brandon be clapped in chains until you stand at the bar, bail or no bail.the brandon would ask.Outside the main door, a handful of men on horseback in city livery did their best to hold back the press of people, but it was almost impossible to get in the door.I hardly listened it hardly mattered.Fitzwalter took the floor without looking at francis, cleared francis throat, and began to read. fredrick sabastian aditya lana tori randall payton remington maximo leon

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Saturday Bearpic
Publicité
Archives
Publicité